Uncategorized

Weekly recap: from 2016 to 2017

Happy New Years!! 

Let’s see….. This year has been full of surprises. 

I got a whole bunch of PRs, great training weeks, horrible runs, finding out that I cannot stand running next to the garbage truck during races, finding out that I CAN run under 9 min pace (sometimes), and the biggest highlight of the year for me was the umbilical hernia surgery.

That took away a big chunk of my training which resulted in 3 DNS- the major race being the Honolulu marathon. 

Oh weeeellll. Cest la vie. 

Can’t do anything and couldn’t do anything to prevent it.  I don’t ever regret being super fit during my pregnancies and even if that second pregnancy caused the diastatis recti, it was all very worth it because this little booger (aka daughter #2) gives us so much laughter and joy. 

It’s funny though- I really never pictured myself being a runner.  Ever.  I tried after Mr. B started doing races back in 2008 but I didn’t really continue with it.  I ran one mile and that was like running ten miles for me. 

So now that I do enjoy running and actually complaining that I couldn’t run for so many weeks following the surgery, it makes me laugh a little.  Who would’ve thought that I, of all the people on this earth, would complain about not running?!? 

We have finally started to get settled into this beautiful cozy house that we call our own hale (house) and we have two amazingly funny, sometimes handful, daughters.  

I think even though 2016 had a lot of pain and agony, I think it really made me appreciate for what I have. 

Mahalo to Mr. B and the kids! 

Well, on to the recap:

Monday: rest after Christmas 

Tuesday: 4 miles @ 9:22/ mi pace

Wednesday: yoga/strength training 

Thursday: 6 miles @ 9:06/ mi pace on the treadmill

Friday: rest day 

Saturday: New Year’s Eve! 6.25 miles @ 8:46/ mi pace.  F.I.N.A.L.L.Y!!!!!!!!!! Finally the run that I’ve been waiting for. That whoopppeeedeeedooo kind of run. Yes it happened on a New Year’s Eve early evening.  What a great way to end the year! Wooo hoooo!!!!

Sunday: hiking day! The photos are in such random order- sorry in advance! The treats (our favorite- Bubbies ice cream came after the hike, not during!)

I’m linking up with Jessie and Jess with the weekly recap. 

Hope everyone had a nice New Year’s Eve and day! 

Leave a Reply

