Uncategorized

Aloha Friday

aloha friday!

It’s Aloha Friday~ no work till Monday~!

Yep, I am definitely happy that it’s a Friday and not a Thursday anymore.  I just hate Thursday afternoons- my body wants the week to be over with, but I have one more day…and now it’s Friday 🙂  Yeay!

Today’s non-running accomplishment:
Yoga morning

After making the obentos, I started with my routine- meditation, stretching, and then

Sun Salutation A
Sun Salutation B

Half Primary Series

Today’s pick of the asana: Shavasana (I think this is everyone’s favorite, no matter who you are)

shavasana

savasana2

savasan 1

I could keep on going with cute/funny savasana (shavasana) pics.

So back to the asana- the benefits of this pose:

  • relaxes your central nervous system
  • calms your mind
  • relaxes your body
  • reduces insomnia
  • helps improve your sleep
  • reduces headaches and fatigue

Basically, it’s a GREAT relaxing pose.  Yes, we all love this moment.  Even the kids look forward to this shavasana time whenever we do yoga together.

My teacher used to have the bell- it’s that dull low sound bell that kind of echoes the whole studio.  She would also talk to us in that slow, soft voice that makes you think there is nothing to worry about in the world.  Then she would touch our shoulders, pushing down a little bit to keep our chest open.

It’s super important to take that moment to relax your mind and body.

We don’t take enough time to do this, not me at least!  Your body, your brain, your mind need this moment.

It’s like we’re so busy with our lives, that time keeps on slipping by.  I want to cherish each moment and just be grateful for everything but sometimes, it’s hard to focus on that when there are a gazillion things I am doing/need to be doing.

Ahhhh shavasana.

Another asana for the day: Halasana

halasana

It really stretches your shoulders and neck.  Sometimes it hurts too much so I don’t go all the way (to let my toes touch the floor) because of my neck pain and I know if I push it, it’ll just give me a headache later on.  It’s all about listening to your body.

Now try coming back from this pose to the laying down pose (like shavasana) but counting 15 Mississippi counts- you know what I am talking about right? the super slow counting.  With each 1 Mississippi count, you focus on touching one of your spine to the floor and go SUPER slow.  So slow that your abs want you to drop your legs already.  It’s a great way to workout your core, makes you stronger, and you really want to focus on each of your spine touching the floor with each count.

Benefits of this asana:

  • calms the brain
  • stimulates the abdominal organs
  • stretches the shoulders and spine
  • helps relieve the symptoms of menopause
  • reduces stress and fatigue

Be extra careful if you’ve had or are having:

  • neck injury
  • menstruation
  • asthma and high blood pressure
  • pregnant (consult your doc)
  • if you’re going to touch the floor with your toes, make sure you’ve had some kind of instruction/guidance from an experienced instructor before you try this.

Hope you have a nice weekend and don’t forget to RELAX your body/mind/brain 🙂

relax

Leave a Reply

