Uncategorized

Happy Tuesday!

aloha tuesday

Happy Tuesday ๐Ÿ™‚

Today’s run:

6.2 miles @ 8:28/mi average pace
Temperature: somewhere in the low 70s
Humidity: somewhere around 70-80%
The air was thick again! But gorgeous views of the mountains with sunrise peeking from the clouds.

Overall, it was a great run- when I first started, I felt like a gazelle (not really…but kind of like a gazelle).  My legs didn’t feel like they were weighing me down this morning.  Whoop whoop.

BUT the main reason why I went this fast was because I was running out of time.  I had to get back at a decent time so I could take a shower, get ready, prepare breakfast, and head out to work….It’s super nice that my parents are here right now so one less thing to worry about: kids ๐Ÿ™‚ I love them dearly but gosh, it takes them (well let me rephrase that, daughter #2) forever to get ready, feed them, and bring them to school/summer camp/wherever they need to go.

run

It felt great to get back into running again and this 4-days off from running got me worried that the first morning back will be heavy, sluggish, and just not enjoyable.  Mile 0-1 I felt great (like a gazelle running in the wild), and from there, I had this urge to go use the bathroom and the need to get back home soon…boy, was I running fast.  I hate that feeling of wanting to go use the bathroom when I run but I also didn’t want to turn around to go home or go find a bathroom nearby.  Every minute counted this morning!

run quoterun quote 2

I did feel reborn after the run (and after using the bathroom).  I felt revived and refreshed.  I was also thinking, hmmm I’m not sore yet from yesterday’s strength training in the afternoon.  When is that going to hit me?  My neck… it’s sore but not as bad as yesterday….

Ta-da! The soreness hit me as soon as I stepped out of the car in the parking lot at my work.  Great way to start a day ๐Ÿ™‚

Yesterday’s strength training was hard core- I did 2 of the ab/core sessions from Blogilates on YouTube.  I skipped the intro/ending talk and I did 2 separate workouts back to back.  I don’t think I sweated that much even with running.  My tank top was drenched in sweat. (And this is me who sweats a LOT- I think people see me as crying instead of sweating when they see me running because I sweat so much.) 
I also did the leg/butt workout afterwards too.

I found this very yummy-looking recipe on the website today:

gallery-1465915131-honey-garlic-cauliflower-003

It’s honey/garlic/sweet/spicy cauliflowers.  I forgot what it was called… but it looked really delicious.  I have this thing with cauliflowers lately- they are so light, healthy, and yummy.  Anyway, this is not fried, just baked in the oven and after they’re done, you toss them around in the honey/soy sauce/hot sauce/garlic mixture.

Hope you have a fun Tuesday!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Happy Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

