Getting Stronger! non-running days!

It’s Aloha Friday again (painful Friday)

It’s Aloha Friday~~~~ No work till Monday Tuesday~! If you haven’t heard of this song yet, it’s right here: It’s Aloha Friday, No work till Monday!

Can’t start our Fridays without listening to that song at least once.

So yesterday, I talked about how I wanted to practice the Utthita Hasta Padangusthasana (yesterday’s post).  Once I set my mind on something, I tend to practice or do the exercise throughout the day, not too much, but here and there.

I guess my tendon/ligament didn’t like that too much.  So if you’re working on your Utthita Hasta Padangusthasana pose, just be careful!!!

iliopsoas

iliopsoas2

This is what I learned so far:

Iliopsoas Tendinitis or Iliopsoas Syndrome

Iliopsoas Tendinitis Symptoms:

  • pain and tenderness (yes, I have them)
  • onset of pain is gradual and builds up over extended period of time (I’m not sure about this one.  I already had the pain last night but it’s still there today…)

Iliopsoas Syndrome Symptoms:

  • pain and tenderness
  • pain is associated with this is very sharp and sudden (again, I don’t know if it is such a sudden thing or not.  I’m still in pain)
  1. Stretch and stretch.  Flexible and supple muscles and tendons are very important to prevent injury.
  2. Don’t overdo it!

Iliopsoas-Stretch-1

PSOAS_Series_020

Sources also say, rest is very important but minor stretching (this may be uncomfortable, but I’d rather do something…) and working out your abs will strengthen your muscles/tendons.  I did skip my plank yesterday so I should do that after I do my stretches tonight.

I went to go talk to my coworker/yoga teacher/mentor/counselor and she taught me some stretch moves to help and she told me I made the right decision to not run this morning.  I wanted to go for a 5-6 mile run today, but when my alarm went off at 4:30 am and I lifted my legs, I knew not to go immediately.  She told me this happens a lot to her runner students because it seems like their hamstrings and these tendons (the iliopsoas area) are tighter than non-runners.

For me, the pain is on both sides.  Argh, it hurts but I am hoping that this will go away soon.

I really hope today and tomorrow’s rest days will be enough for me to run on Sunday and Monday!

162

 Addition:

Cool photo of the rainbow around the sun? I see the colors of the rainbow but it’s so blinding I couldn’t keep looking! 

Leave a Reply

