Race Recap

2016 Honolulu Ekiden

Race recap! 

Honolulu ekiden is a 26.2 miles relay race.  You can run this as a team of two to up to six team members, but you just can’t do it all alone (like a full marathon).

One of the highlight of this race is you get to run the road leading up to Hanauma bay to Sandy beach and back.  At the Honolulu Marathon, you turn around before this road up to Hanauma bay. 

This race was pretty interesting! 

If we were to do this again, I’d definitely want to make sure we get like a team shirt or something to make us look like a team 🙂  oh and also, I would want to get more than just 1.5 hours of sleep the night before! I was definitely a zombie in the morning. 


The course was divided into six legs- I had the leg 2- 5.6 miles. Legs 2 and 5 are the longer legs @ 5.6 miles from Kaimuki MS- past Kahala Mall- all the way down Kalanianaole Hwy.  This stretch felt like it was going on forever! You do get glimpses of the sparkling blue ocean and drop dead gorgeous mansions with unbelievable gates protecting the mansions so your mind can wander a bit when you’re running this stretch.  I was definitely fighting some nausea from the lack of sleep during my run which kinda sucked. I also saw a police SUV that ran into another woman’s car too.  Both of them seemed okay (not hurt) but both cars looked pretty bad. 


My husband and the other guy did the hardest legs (legs 3&4) which is that hill up and over Hanauma from the Maunalua beach park to Sandy beach (leg3) and Sandy beach to Hanauma Bay to the Maunalua beach park (leg4).

Those legs are supposed to have the very best views. 


It was such a fun race, getting the sash from our team member and handing it off to the next runner.

At the end of the day, if you’re still in the area your race packet includes tickets to the music festival.

I did see a whole crew of Japanese comedians and couple of famous singers/ artists running this relay as part of their tv show.  Yeah- they had their own nice shuttle vans.  But I’m not complaining- our shuttle buses ran very smoothly too.  


And the best part? 

The refreshments! They went over the top at this race. So many sponsors. They served yummy rice balls, curry with rice, crackers with prosciutto, acai bowls, and many more!!! 


The finisher medal:


And the cutest finisher shirt:


This is one my favorite shirts ever. It’s so cute I don’t want to use it as my running shirt. 

Yep, I think it’ll be a fun race to do this again next year.  Just make sure I get some decent sleep!!!! 

Leave a Reply

