Getting Stronger! non-running days!

Detox your mind, detox your body

Last night, I was dead asleep by 9pm.  And this morning, I woke up panicking at 5:41am thinking, ahhh I forgot to set my rice cooker on timer (I normally set it for 5am so I have time to cook the other side dishes prior to 5am for the obentos)!!! But then after a bit, I realized today is Saturday 🙂

This morning, I took a morning off from running and instead, I practiced my yoga.

I used to go to Studio Yoggy at least three or four times a week in Japan (when I was in college so I had all the time in the world to do my own stuff).  I practiced Ashtanga yoga and mat pilates a lot and I am trying to stick with that.

It’s been forever since I last went to an actual class but I have this one magazine that I kept all these years- it’s like my go-to for some guidance.  I also use another reference on top of this magazine.

It felt good to sweat it all out- there’s been quite a lot of negativity this week and it felt refreshing to just breathe and sweat all those stuff out of my body.  The kids make fun of this one asana- Simhasana (lion pose) but I love doing this at the end right before Savasana. My teacher years ago told me to just let it go- let it allllll go with this Simhasana.

The other day, my coworker (it’s interesting that there are at least 3 people who practice yoga hard core at my work and we don’t work at a fitness or health-related work at all) told me that Ashtanga yoga goes deeper than I ever knew.  I’m only practicing the primary series and I am FAR from mastering this series- like a beginner compared to these other ladies at work.  She told me it goes all the way up to six series– and there is only one person who has mastered all six (I haven’t confirmed this with any source so please don’t quote me on this one!).

I would love to learn more about yoga and chakra.  Time to hit the library!

I feel so much more refreshed and ready to start the day.  Today is Saturday = errands day.  Gymnastics class, grocery shopping at two different places, and maybe we might even hit the Japanese market later this PM.  Tomorrow morning, I will finish all of my grocery shopping by going to the Farmer’s Market.  This is the busy mom’s life- you try to fit everything you can on the weekends because I just don’t have time to go after work on the weekdays!

One more thing- I was browsing through more running blogs and came across this amazing blog from Jessie at Right Fits.  One of her post got my attention and I asked her if could share it here.  Reading this Post made me really homesick!!! But it was refreshing to read about Japan from another perspective.  Great race recap too!!!

Have a great weekend everyone 🙂

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/16441153/?claim=ydepe3bn9zz”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

2 thoughts on “Detox your mind, detox your body

    1. Thank you Jessie!!! I was really happy to see a runner who ran the Tokyo marathon! I wish I was a runner back then- and didn’t wait this long to start running but I’m enjoying all the races here in HI. Thanks again for such a wonderful post! I can’t wait to read more of your cool experiences!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

