Race Recap

Sunday Funday @ Kualoa Ranch!!

First and foremost, Happy Father’s Day to my husband/father to our daughters 🙂 and Happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there!  

Today started off super early. Woke up at 3:30 am…. Is it weird that my alarm setting on my phone looks like this? 


And then after getting ourselves ready (not just for the race but for a beach day afterwards), we woke the kids up at 4 am.

Why? 

Cuz we signed up for the Xterra Star Trail Run

It is a course designed for 5k, 10k, 20k, and 30k.  The best thing of all was the Keiki Zone.  This is the first race we’ve ever signed up for that had on site kids zone so the parents can run a race without any worries!!! 

The girls had tons of fun with free face painting, bubble play, arts, and stuff. 

Since this was our first trail race and hearing how “hilly” this Kualoa Ranch can be, we opted for a 10k.  

It was an amazing race with gorgeous views.  We went through a whole bunch of movie scenes including the foot prints of the dinosaurs from Jurassic Park. 

Cattle everywhere meant lots of poop to dodge.ran through the valley.
The medals were bottle openers. Ha! 

They had free beer from Sierra Nevada, fruits, and chips&salsa. 

Since I didn’t sign us up until last week, I paid $40 per person plus fees, totaling $86.40 for this race. 

Normally, unless you pay for a tour or some activities like the ATV ride or horseback riding, you can’t go through the valleys of the Kualoa Ranch so this was an experience I wanted to enjoy at least once.

The race itself- it sucked! Yes! It sucked! Well, the first half of the race sucked. My first half was battle against both side stitches.  I just could not shake them off.  And the single trail around the fish pond meant a lot of walking, stopping, and slow running (which would’ve normally stopped my side stitch but not today!). 

The second half was really fun. That’s after a number of uphills. It went through a whole bunch of mud and shaded trails. 

Overall, I knew I could run faster and stronger but I didn’t.  I wanted to take photos and take it easy after knowing that my time already slowed down drastically because of my side stitch.  I also felt unprepared for all the grassy uphills.  Pretty steep ones too!!!!

The weather wasn’t bad- it was chilly before the race, got hot and muggy (look at all that overcast), and then got cool again.

Would I do this again next year? Most likely yes- and I think next time, I’ll sign the girls up for their Keiki 5k race after our race.  I think I need to run more trails to get myself used to the grassy, rocky, rooty uphills. Those uphills were hard! 

Then we went to the Kailua beach for some swim time. 


Lots of kite surfers out today! 

It was a little freaky when we spotted the Portuguese man o’war (jellyfish). 

I hope everyone had a nice Sunday!!! 

Time to get ready for another busy week ahead of us.

Leave a Reply

